Why You Won’t Turn Into a Pumpkin if You’re Not Blogging Every Day (Part 2 of 2)

I recently re-evaluated the writing blogs I follow.  In the process  I deep-sixed some, kept a few, and skim most.  I simply don’t have time to read numerous posts on a daily basis, particularly if they’re the blog equivalent of War and Peace.  I mean, I’m lucky if I get the dishes done on a daily basis!

A Crackly Crisp and Criteria

Trying to read and crank out quality posts every day had me fried to a crackly crisp.  Been there, done that?  If so, it’s okay to scale back.  You won’t turn into a pumpkin. Really.  Read Luke’s complete post here  (Check Part 1 for full context.  That’s okay.  I’ll wait.)

Here’s the basic criteria I used to pare my blog “read list” down to something manageable:

  • Will I turn into a pumpkin if I miss a week or two of this blog’s content?
  • Is the content interesting, relevant, and engaging on a regular basis?  Is it fun?
  • Does the blogger reciprocate, offer guest posts, share links, retweet, etc?
  • Will this blog help my writing, outreach, insight, or all of the above?
  • Is the blogger genuine?  Does he or she blog from the heart?
  • Does this blogger have a personal account at Hershey’s?  (Couldn’t resist.)

In case you’re wondering, here are some blogs I recommend:

- The Writing Life – Terry Whalin

- A Step in the Write Direction – Donna Clark Goodrich

- Kathy Macias

Bottom line:

Daily blog posts may be over-rated.  If you’re a writer, you know better than anyone how much time blogging can swallow away from other writing.  Prioritize accordingly.  More on that in a minute.

Okay, okay.  I admit.  At first I felt a little guilty about scaling blog posts back to a more realistic schedule.  Something that I could handle.  Not anymore.  I decided that when it comes to “building a platform” and the like, it’s okay to not be in a hurry.  Ditto avoiding cranking out noise just to fill the screen.

A Matter of Priorities

Blogging vs. working on your writing comes down to a question of priorities.  If your first passion is blogging, then get at it and go to it.  But if it’s working on your next novel, short story or creative non-fiction piece, concentrate on that first and blog when you can.

Neither you nor I will turn into a pumpkin if we’re not blogging every day.   It’s okay.  Really.

Who’s with me?

How often do you blog?  What do you look for in a blog post?  Who are your favorite bloggers?  Share in the comments section.

3 thoughts on “Why You Won’t Turn Into a Pumpkin if You’re Not Blogging Every Day (Part 2 of 2)

  1. I’m with you on the dropping blogs and scanning part. Community and content are what I’m looking for. It’s a lot of work, because you have to keep massaging your community to keep it intact, but quality is the reward.

  2. I’m dropping from two posts a day to one post a day soon so I’ll have more time for other writing – personally, I also like following blogs who only post once or twice a week if possible.

Leave a Reply

